Apartment Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.3
 Rooms  3.0
 Cleanliness  2.9
 Location  3.6
 Security & Safety  3.2
 Service & Staff  2.7
 Food / Dining  2.8
 Total  3.1

"They were subreting illegally!!"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   Sylvia S. of Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed:   May 23, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2015     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The last day, the owner of the house came to kick us out, because that house was illegally being subrented...

"Don't expect to much, but ok"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   Gera M. of IJsselstein, United States
Reviewed:   May 11, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2015     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We booked in Camden, when we came there, it seemed after calling the owner that our stayadress had changed to Kings Cross. The owner said he had mailed it, but i never got a mail about this. That's not nice.
The hotel in Kings Cross was Ok, but the bathroom not very clean. Free wifi worked very well, near centrum Londen, nice room. But don't expect to match, for a weekend it was OK.

"Communication and the hotel itself: pretty bad..."

User Rating:  1.9
Reviewer:   Anne B. of Enschede, Netherlands
Reviewed:   May 9, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2015     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We received a text that said we had to move to one of his other hotels due to a massive leakage at 7.00 in the morning. Too bad, because we booked this hotel to be close to Camden and Kentish Town.

The owner would meet us there at 2.30 p.m., so we waited for him with another couple. Despite his proposal to meet up at that time, he didn't show up. Fortunately the cleaning lady showed up and showed us to our rooms and helped us the best way possible. She felt really bad about letting us into rooms that were still filled with the mess of the guests that stayed there before us. She had no idea we were coming. The cleaning lady called the owner to discuss which room we should get the keys to. He clearly wasn't on his way to meet us...

The upside is that we got a family room with a private bathroom instead of the double room we actually booked, but unfortunately this hotel wasn't in the neighborhood we wanted to be. Bathroom was pretty filthy, the room was dusty, just one roll of toilet paper for five days and all day noisy construction work at the neighbor's house.

If you only need a place to stay and don't really care about what the place looks like, it's fine. It costs the same as a bed in a hostel, you just don't have to share the room with twenty stinky backpackers. But if you're in London for a nice vacation, please book something that actually deserves the title 'hotel'.

By the way... The cleaning lady told us the owner would stop by later that week to give us the receipt, but we never got it. So basically it's a cash only (cleaning lady got instructions to collect the money) hotel and you don't receive a receipt. Is it even legal...?

"Illegal"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Francesco V. of Milan, Italy
Reviewed:   May 4, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2015     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Upon arriving the tenant was not present, we opened a guest who gave us the key and told us to take possession of a room. Walked into the room the sheets and pillows were dirty liquids and other things I would not write.

There was no heating and at some point enters the property owner telling us he had to go every half hour in the room to see the item for sale. He also said that Jonathan sublet rooms illegaly and on Sunday the Council would finally kicked off.

"Fucking shit !"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Ham E. of Lyon, France
Reviewed:   April 30, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I've booked a room in this hotel and I had to pay 40€ on Internet . Ok that's normal
But when I went to this hotel . First it says that it's on 45 alma street London . When you go to this hotel there is a house and no hotel ! I had to call some guys to ask if the hotel really exist! They told me "go to coffee and meet me there at 1pm"
First he didn't told me which coffee, there are a million coffee in London .
Second, I went to alma street at 1pm there was nobody .
3th , they don't want to give me my 40€ back !
So this is a fake for me ! Don't book this shit . They never called me back to send my money !

Un hôtel a éviter a tout prix ! C'est des arnaqueurs, qui se foutent de la gueule du monde. Cet hôtel n'existe même pas .

"stay away from stay in camden"

User Rating:  1.2
Reviewer:   Frank H. of Baden-württemberg/Stuttga, Germany
Reviewed:   April 29, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
if you want to wait 1,5 hours at the street bevor this dirty and rooms with broken furniture and unfriendly Managers, than you are welcome to stay in camden.

"okay, but..."

User Rating:  2.8
Reviewer:   Tonia G. of Rorbas, Switzerland
Reviewed:   April 27, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We had to confirm our arrival time the day in advance and did so. When we arrived on time the door was locked, nobody opened. So had to call, a key should be ready for us, but there wasn't. So he came after 20 min with the key. Was very friendly though. Room and Bathroom weren't cleaned for at least 3 days probably longer and weren't cleaned in the time we stayed there. Would not stay there again, because it wasn't clean.

"Reklamation"

User Rating:  1.8
Reviewer:   Giuseppe R. of Matten b. Intelaken, Switzerland
Reviewed:   April 24, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Wegbeschreibung war schlecht wir wurden völlig an einem anderen Ort geleitet.
Endlich angekommen trafen wir den wirklichen Hausbesitzer.
Er war gerade beschäftigt die Wohnung einer Mietinterresentin , die wir als Ferienaufenthalt gebucht haben, gezeigt.
Er hat uns darauf hingewiesen, das wir hier nicht übernachten dürfen.
Herr Jonathan Simpson sei ein Betrüger und vermietet seine Wohnung illegal an Touristen weiter.
Ich habe Herr Simpson ein SMS geschrieben, das wir diese Wohnung aus illegaler Geschäfte nicht beziehen dürfen.
Er hat kurz geantwortet und die Buchung ohne zu zögern gelöscht.
Wir haben fast einen ganzen Tag von unserm kurzen Aufenthalt (3 Tage ) wegen suchen einer neuen Schlafmöglichkeit verloren.

"Horrible service, decent rooms"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Daniel B. of Connecticut, United States
Reviewed:   April 20, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The rooms are decent for the price you pay (£35 per night for a double room), but the allocation appears arbitrary. If you don't get the room with the kitchen, you have no access to water except to boil it in a kettle that doesn't seem to have been washed.

However, what really needs improvement is the service. The owner (Jonathan) never replied my emails; attempts to call him either result in him mumbling that he isn't free and immediately puts down the phone, or empty promises (eg. he'll promise to confirm your reservation dates and price but never gets back to you). Further, having confirmed in advance my arrival time, he messages me 10 minutes before my arrival to tell me that he had to leave for 'an emergency meeting' and arbitrarily sets a time for me to turn up.

Overall, stay here if you are flexible and don't mind being treated badly by the manager.

"romantic small street in Camden"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Swantje R. of Berlin, Germany
Reviewed:   April 11, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The house is situated in an entirely historic street in camden, very well situated next to Kenfdish Road. Here you can browse the a large diversity of shops of nearly everything: 2 nd hand charity with a lot of bookss, nice libannese supermarkets and coffe shops, english breakfast with baked beans, a Lidl and so on...tube is 7 min walking..
the house itsself is recently refurbished, it provides 5 bedrooms and one bathroom. They are basic and nice.
Cleaning is on stundent level...
The downside is the quite poor communication of the owner. He let us stand in front of the door for one hour. SMS and Telefone is answered with huge delay or not at all.


1 - 10 of 52 reviews  Next 10 results




ApartmentInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us