Apartment Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.0
 Rooms  4.0
 Cleanliness  4.0
 Location  3.8
 Security & Safety  4.0
 Service & Staff  4.0
 Food / Dining  4.0
 Total  3.6

"Srivastav INN has fradulent reviews on TA"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Tanya X. of NY, United States
Reviewed:   June 5, 2012  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I am a very easy person and generally don't get upset on small issues. The incidents of my stay at Srivastav INN forced me to write this review.

No doubt that the place is run by a German Owner and is in Greater Kailash. However, apart from that there is nothing great about the owner as such, she is a greedy business minded woman with her eyes set on ways to milk you in different ways imaginable.

Though on emails the Sigrun pretended to be a nice lady and on reading reviews on TA we booked this place. However, my stay at this place is not at all as other reviews suggested. Interestingly, most of the reviews of her property suspiciously appears to be some sort of marketing gimmick showing her website address, property address and phone numbers, this is not a common feature for other property's reviews i have read.

This fact was noticed by my husband before we booked this place but i ignored his warning, how dumb of me, and i was totally fell prey to her cleaver deception.

We booked this place in the winter season of 2011as we were not getting bookings at any other place in Greater Kailash area and were promised on email that we shall get complementary breakfast, free wi-fi and all taxes included for our rooms. However, this is not the case i found out later, we were made to pay over the head for the simple breakfast of badly cooked 1 egg with 2 toast pieces, even the same was served with no desire at all. No juice was served and were made to pay even for the water supplied. We paid over the odds for slow internet and were even made to pay different hidden fees/taxes.

The owner tried to show herself very polite but her attitude changed as soon as she got the payments and i found her changing her commitments and going back from her words various times.

I don't wish to go back to this fraudulent place again in my life as there are number of other good places which are run more honestly by real Indian people rather then a German lady trying to sell Indian experience, with sole aim to milk you in paying over your head, even though she has no real knowledge of Indian culture as such or Indian way of life. The owner of this place takes pride in calling her staff as her servants and feels happy when they call her as their owner, because they are alleged to be working with her for last many years, therefore so she feels that she has become their owner... pathetic lady!!!

"A PLACE TO FEEL AT HOME"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Claus-Peter H. of Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed:   January 31, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
A PLACE TO FEEL AT HOME
I reached New Delhi in November 2008. I had been sent here by a German Government office, my expected duration of stay three to 5 years. For the first weeks a colleague of mine had booked me in Mrs Srivastav’s bed and breakfast place in Greater Kailash II. And here I was: I arrived late at night. Mrs Srivastav and her Indian house help (cook) were expecting me. I was shown my room and was served some refreshments to welcome me. And a warm welcome it was indeed. The flat was nicely decorated with modern and antique furniture, with drawings, paintings and sculptures by Mrs Srivastav who is a well known sculptor and writer for children, the rooms neat, clean and well furnished. My room had a huge desk, an internet connection and a TV set. Even in the big bathroom you could feel Feng Shui with matching colours and some flowers creating a warm feeling. Both rooms radiated an atmosphere of special calmness and peacefulness as did the whole flat.
The following morning I was invited to a first sip of coconut water on the balcony (something that soon would become a tradition), followed by a nice breakfast in the living cum dining room. Both the cook Lakshman and the landlady herself took at lot of trouble over my well-being.
And this proved true during the following months. Quickly I felt at home and therefore I time and again delayed my moving to a house/flat of my own. Thus I stayed for eight months (moved only end of July)! Greater Kailash II, S 464 became a safe harbour for me. I was given all the needed advice, was shown around in this huge city, and the regular dinners at the house – prepared by a very dedicated Lakshman – left no wishes open. Also my laundry was done or brought to a dry cleaner. When I came back from business trips I was personally greeted even at 2 o’clock at night!
Mrs Srivastav always found some time if I had any questions, helped where possible. I met some of her interesting friends and other satisfied travellers who had booked a stay in her house for some days.
For a newcomer in Delhi, especially one who is preparing himself for a long stay of some years, the city is not easy to get adjusted to. Mrs Srivastav made it a lot easier as she always gave me the feeling to be at home – at least in her house.
In addition: The place is conveniently located, safe and a nice market square is within the neighbourhood (good restaurants and bars, shops for the daily need and other facilities) and some beautiful parks just round the corner.
Whether you wish to stay for a longer period or only for a few days while visiting Delhi: This is the place where you should stay, especially when you find the modern hotels too expensive, too boring in their neutral appearance (which is alike worldwide), too impersonal. Mrs Srivastav opened the doors to Delhi for me – much wider than any hotel staff could have done.

Claus-Peter Holste-von Mutius

"Comfortable Homestay"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   David W. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   January 28, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Stayed in Delhi for a fortnight, and found the B&B to be very comfortable. The room was luxurius,clean and safe, and the food was outstanding! Sigrun showed me around, took me to an Indian wedding and invited me to join her at an Art Exhibition. Would recommend it to my friends and colleagues.

"Home away from Home"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Patricia C. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   January 28, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
As a returning guest I have no complaints about this wonderful guest house. A very comfortable room in a safe and quiet area. The guesthouse is close to great markets and restaurants. Not only is the room and house a pleasure to stay in but the host, Sigrun, is a delight. A wonderful lady who is happy to help and opens you up to experience Delhi in a different way, giving you a chance to have cultural experiences of all kinds. Many of which you wouldn't know about without the local knowledge. To top it all off the food here is unbeatable. If your sick of restaurant food and need tasty wholesome cooking then this is heaven. As I am a frequent traveler this is my place of choice to stay when I am in New Delhi as it feels like a home away from home, which can be a rarity when you're on the road.


1 - 4 of 4 reviews




ApartmentInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us