Apartment Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  3.6
 Rooms  3.5
 Cleanliness  4.0
 Location  4.0
 Security & Safety  4.1
 Service & Staff  4.3
 Food / Dining  3.8
 Total  3.9

"The worst hostel ever"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Jenny B. of Santa Barbara, United States
Reviewed:   April 13, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Should I warn you or let you experience the pure hell on your own?

"Not worth the money"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Ami M. of San Luis Obispo, United States
Reviewed:   November 27, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hostel is close to the beach, but the rooms are crowded, my bedsheets had lots of someone else's hair on it (proving they hadn't been washed), the staff was reluctant to help, the bathroom floors were disgusting, and there was VERY little space to make/eat breakfast.

"Súper small room with no windows, no Air, súper warm, imposible to sleep."

User Rating:  2.0
Reviewer:   Maria G. of Bilbao, Spain
Reviewed:   October 6, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The Room was horrible, with no space for nothing, any windows so It was imposible to sleep, during the night I had to move to my car and sleep there.
The staff ver y nice. The location is not the best, 30 minuts walking from the center.

"I would not recommend"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Matt M. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   September 6, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Whilst the staff are lovely and helpful, I would not recommend staying at this hostel. The rooms are very hot and there is no air con, despite being in Southern California. The beds are uncomfortable. Most worrying is that the hostel has a big problem with ants. It was disconcerting to see your belonging covered in ants (nb we did not have any food in the room at all). The staff know that there is a problem with ants (as they advise you not to put food in your room when you check in) but do not seem to have done much about it.

We did not stay for breakfast due to the ants but all that was on offer was pancakes.

Santa Barbara is an expensive city but no matter what the price any premises selling a service should not be infested with ants. The management really need to sort this out. Maybe shut the place down for a while to resolve the issue and put in preventative measures.

"Not worth the money"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Maria H. of Olympia, WA, United States
Reviewed:   August 12, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2017     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hostel is not staffed from midnight until morning. During this time there were numerous people in the hostel well into the wee hours making lots of noise (as in party noise). Not sure they were actually paying customers of the hostel. The conversations could be heard verbatim through the walls. In a nutshell, no sleep until around 4 am. The bathroom shower barely worked. In the second bathroom, one must lean over the toilet to use the sink, next to a large electrical panel. Not sure how that remodel was ever permitted. In short, definitely would not recommend this hostel and would never stay there again.

"Bad place do stay"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Maria P. of Barueri, United States
Reviewed:   June 22, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Bad place to stay

"De paso"

User Rating:  2.3
Reviewer:   Ignacio Z. of Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed:   March 13, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
No ofrecen toallas. Hay que pagar USD 2,00 por ducha.
Me parece que por el precio que cuesta hospedarse debería de incluirla.
Otra cosa que no me gustó, es lo incomoda que son las camas; te clavas los resortes en la espalda.

"Unimpressed"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Laura K. of Los angeles, United States
Reviewed:   December 13, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2016     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Room was $15 more than official website online price said. Check in took half an hour as we waited for the receptionist to finish arguing with other guests. Morning staff didn't show up and the guy they called in was rude, slow, and offensive. Sorry we weren't "exotic" enough for you. If I'm paying that much for a poor hostel at least treat me with respect and like a customer. Breakfast might be free but we were unwilling to spend two hours waiting for a pancake. One and a half bathrooms and the only shower needed to be turned off with a screwdriver? Definitely not worth the price. 30 minute walk from downtown. Disappointing that such a lovely town has such a crummy hostel

User Rating:  2.1
Reviewer:   Jack S. of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   December 5, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2016     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining

"Schlechtestes Hostel in dem ich je war!"

User Rating:  2.4
Reviewer:   Sandra K. of Carinthia, Austria
Reviewed:   July 28, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2016     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Ich würde dieses Hodtel keinem empfehlen. Ich habe ein Privatzimmer gemietet und dieses war extrem klein. Ein Traumfänger diente als Lichtschalter und Ameisen leisteten mir Gesellschaft. Des Weiteren war im Zimmer ein sehr muffiger Geruch und das Lüften gelang einem auch nur bei offener Zimmertür. Das Badezimmer war auch kein Augenschmaus. Neben der offensichtlich kaputten WC-Brille wurden Löcher beim Duschkopf mit Holzteilen überdeckt. Der Wasserdruck der Dusche war sehr gering. Ein Lichtblick war für mich jedoch der Gedanke, das ein Frühstück im Preis inkludiert ist - ich hätte mir jedoch nicht zu große Hoffnungen machen sollen. Nachdem der Tee kalt war, durfte sich jeder Gast selbst einen Filterkaffee zubereiten (kein Orangensaft oder andere Getränke). Es gab auch kein Frühstücksbuffet sondern jeder Gast durfte sich selbst Pancakes zubereiten (man muss also mit einer Wartezeit von 20-30 min rechnen) -das war's mit dem Essen.
Ich habe das Hostel hauptsächlich wegen dem "free parking" ausgewählt, jedoch erhielten wir in der ersten Nacht nicht mal einen Parklatz, weil alles belegt war.
Ein Pluspunkt: der Strand ist zu Fuß gut erreichbar.
Fazit: sucht euch lieber eine andere Schlafgelegenheit ;)


1 - 10 of 18 reviews  Next 8 results




ApartmentInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us