Apartment Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  3.3
 Rooms  2.7
 Cleanliness  3.1
 Location  3.3
 Security & Safety  2.9
 Service & Staff  2.9
 Food / Dining  2.7
 Total  3.1

"Hong Kong Downtown Backpackers RUDE receptionist..."

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Juan D. of Manila, Philippines
Reviewed:   April 29, 2013  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2013     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
the worst experience i have in online hostel booking. imagine arriving in hong kong downtown backpackers and being refused of your reservation, with the rude old chinese woman almost pushing us out of the queue while inquiring becoz she is damn busy becoz there's lot of complaints bombarding her! we have no choice but to roam around hong kong to look for another hostel to accommodate us. the place is not worth your money and your effort...

"Highly NOT Recommended"

User Rating:  1.2
Reviewer:   Lexi L. of Makati, Philippines
Reviewed:   June 29, 2012  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2012     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I wouldn’t recommend this place at all. PERIOD.

First, when we arrived the “manager” asked HK$ 500 more without explaining what is it for.
Second, I booked a QUAD type and what was given was a room with two beds.
Third, when we entered the room smells as if someone has just vacated it with smoking guests.

There was a deposit of additional HK$ 100 for the key. Where on earth did you find a hotel where there’s a deposit to be made for keys?? I doubt you have that experienced somewhere else.

The bed sheets and pillow cases were not as freshly laundry as what every guest expects when they enter their room. When I tried to ask that this is not what I saw online and booked, he even raised his tone at me saying that I complained a lot and should have said “thank you” instead. Crazy guy! Why do I have to thank that guy who actually steals money from me??? Hello?!? You are definitely out of your mind mister.

Location was a mess, too. There were many other nationals (which I dunno specifically—they are black).

I wouldn’t let this scheme continue so spread the word and make sure Hong Kong Downtown Backpackers’ management must learn how a business runs. Not like this that everywhere you look was not worth of your penny.

"Small"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   David B. of Lipa City, Batangas, Philippines
Reviewed:   December 5, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2011     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My friends and I arrived at the inn a few minutes late from the time we were supposed to check in. And the manager already canceled my reservation, without even attempting to contact me. But he rebooked us in a much smaller room. I won't be coming back at this hotel again.

"the worst place"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Beka T. of Davao City, Philippines
Reviewed:   April 23, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Regretted booking for HK Downtown Backpackers, it is the worst hostel we ever stayed. Not safe, dirty surrounding and the owner was not good. Instead of staying 3 nights we transferred right away the following day to HK Island. The City Garden Hotel. I should have listen to most of the reviews i have read. Its true it is in the center of Tsim Sha Tsui but not a good place to stay.

"No Good!"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   MRS Seno S. of Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewed:   December 10, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2009     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We went to this Tai Wan Hostel thing and we met the receptionist in the hall way. we were supposed to check in at downtown backpackers hotel. this guy came out from the hall way and directly SHOUTED at us that there is no room for us! we got confused knowing that we thought everything was all set when we arrive at the hostel but suddenly this guy was yelling at us that there is no room for us. he even called one of my family members CRAZY! yet he was the one who shouted at us first.
A WARNING FOR THOSE WHO ARE STAYING OR PLANNING TO STAY AT DOWNTOWN BACKPACKERS OR TAI WAI HOSTEL:
NEVER BE LURED WITH THE CHEAP HOSTEL RATE THAT THEY OFFER. THE RECEPTIONIST SEEMED TO HAVE RECENTLY RELEASED FROM THE MENTAL HOSPITAL BECAUSE OF HIS BAD AND STINKY ATTITUDE. YOU WILL NEVER GET YOUR MONEY BACK ONCE YOU PAID ON THE INTERNET AND HE DOESN'T EVEN CARE WHERE YOU STAY THE MOMENT YOU ARRIVE THERE AND HE WON'T ADMIT YOU TO HIS HOSTEL.BESIDES THE HOSTEL IS VERY DIRTY AND IT HAS ONLY ONE ELEVATOR WORKING TO SERVICE ALL OF THE FLOORS. YOU WOULD HAVE TO WAIT FOR ALMOST AN HOUR TO GET A RIDE ON THE ELEVATOR ELSE YOU TAKE THE STAIRS.
AS AN ADVICE, LOOK FOR OTHER HOSTELS OUTSIDE CHUNGKING MANSIONS. THEY HAVE BETTER ACCOMMODATION THERE COMPARED TO TAI WAI OR BACKPACKERS HOTEL WHO DOESN'T HAVE ENOUGH ROOMS TO ACCOMMODATE A LARGE GROUP.
LASTLY, THE ONE THAT TAKES CARE OF YOUR RESERVATION IS NOT THERE WHEN YOU CHECK IN. THEY ARE DIFFICULT TO REACH AND WOULDN'T EVEN TAKE YOUR CALLS. YOU DON'T KNOW WHO TO CLARIFY YOUR RESERVATIONS WITH BECAUSE THERE IS NOBODY THERE!!!!

"Ouch..."

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Dimitris B. of Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewed:   November 2, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I was there around noon, paid, left my backpack as my dormitory hadn't been cleaned yet, spent the day out, and late in the afternoon I got back to put my stuff in the room and have a shower. The owner apologized for not being able to give me the bed I had paid for, and offered to let me sleep on a mattress at some corridor for half the money I had given for the dorm bed. Needless to say, I left. And, just for the record, during that little time I was there, I saw half a dozen other people as well complaining about the manager...

"very bad experience"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Catalina V. of pasig, Philippines
Reviewed:   September 17, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
the manager is sooooooooo rude! he said "fuck you" when we tried to get back our money bec. he was charging us more that what we're supposed to pay. he wouldn't want us to cut our stay there bec. we found the place so messy with blankets, cleaning materials, etc. just placed on the hallway. when my niece asked for additional pillow, he answered her back "there's no fucking pillow" that manager has no good conduct! bad image for hongkong. will never come back to that hostel ever again.

"Bad Experience at Hongkong Downtown Backpackers"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Lina V. of pasig, Philippines
Reviewed:   August 25, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I made a reservation for 20beds dorm-std. (w/4beds and private bath (ensuite) at US$10/bed/night for a total of US$600 for 3 nights. I was charged US$63 for deposit + $15 service charge) upon booking. When my family consisting of 20 adults + 7 kids checked in on Aug. 13, 2008, the Hostel Manager. told us that our balance was HK4,480.00 and has to charge us another HK$2,000 for the 7 kids. He said he will give us instead 6 rooms. He wouldn't let us see the rooms unless we gave him the full amount. We were forced to produce the amount bec. the kids were crying already and it was late to look for another place to stay.When we asked if can just stay for one night, he angrilly said no. The Manager was very rude when we were trying to negotiate with him for a discount because we found the rate was too high. He even said "Fuck you" to my son-in-law when he tried to get back our money. Imagine a manager saying those words to a customer? The rooms that he gave us were too small (3 rooms with 2 single beds,one of which is a storeroom, 2 rooms with one single and double beds, & one room with twin double beds. You can just imagine how a 27 pax fit in in those rooms. They only provided tissue papers, glasses and slippers. No soap and towel. They didn't even change the beddings during our stay. The place was untidy with the blankets and other items kept on the hallway. My niece one time asked for a pillow and the manager answered her "There's no fucking pillow here? That Manager is sooooooooo rude! Fortunately, we were able to come out from that hostel still whole on our 4th day. The place is too crowded esp. downstairs where you see different nationalities loitering/offering services around. Security in that hostel is uncertain. The Manager apologized when we were about to leave and even said "see you next year". We could only say to ourselves , "NO WAY, NOT IN THAT HOSTEL AGAIN!"


1 - 8 of 8 reviews




ApartmentInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us