Apartment Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.3
 Rooms  2.7
 Cleanliness  3.1
 Location  3.3
 Security & Safety  2.9
 Service & Staff  2.9
 Food / Dining  2.7
 Total  3.1

"definately place to stay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Chloe H. of YJKC, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   November 13, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
if your going to hong kong definately the place to stay, brilliant staff with a super helpful travel desk, great location,cheap & clean rooms, internet service...cant say enough good things!

"Ouch..."

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Dimitris B. of Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewed:   November 2, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I was there around noon, paid, left my backpack as my dormitory hadn't been cleaned yet, spent the day out, and late in the afternoon I got back to put my stuff in the room and have a shower. The owner apologized for not being able to give me the bed I had paid for, and offered to let me sleep on a mattress at some corridor for half the money I had given for the dorm bed. Needless to say, I left. And, just for the record, during that little time I was there, I saw half a dozen other people as well complaining about the manager...

"HK Downtown Backpackers"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   L F. of Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewed:   October 21, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Not as what I had expected. The room is not the same as shown on the net

"A place for single travellers"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Han Shern P. of Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   October 19, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Overall the rooms were ok for the amount we paid. A convenient location, but becasue it is located at this building(Chung King Mansion) I would not really recommend it for those with children and elderly as the lift is slow and there are many africans(not that i have anything against them, but their big size scared my sister-in-law's mother and their kids). An ideal place for single travellers though.

"great service"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Mark Dyer M. of LA, United States
Reviewed:   October 4, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2008     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Clean, friendly staff and very small rooms (but it seems to be the same everywhere in HK). Thank you for the late 2:00 AM check in.

"very bad experience"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Catalina V. of pasig, Philippines
Reviewed:   September 17, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
the manager is sooooooooo rude! he said "fuck you" when we tried to get back our money bec. he was charging us more that what we're supposed to pay. he wouldn't want us to cut our stay there bec. we found the place so messy with blankets, cleaning materials, etc. just placed on the hallway. when my niece asked for additional pillow, he answered her back "there's no fucking pillow" that manager has no good conduct! bad image for hongkong. will never come back to that hostel ever again.

"Bad Experience at Hongkong Downtown Backpackers"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Lina V. of pasig, Philippines
Reviewed:   August 25, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I made a reservation for 20beds dorm-std. (w/4beds and private bath (ensuite) at US$10/bed/night for a total of US$600 for 3 nights. I was charged US$63 for deposit + $15 service charge) upon booking. When my family consisting of 20 adults + 7 kids checked in on Aug. 13, 2008, the Hostel Manager. told us that our balance was HK4,480.00 and has to charge us another HK$2,000 for the 7 kids. He said he will give us instead 6 rooms. He wouldn't let us see the rooms unless we gave him the full amount. We were forced to produce the amount bec. the kids were crying already and it was late to look for another place to stay.When we asked if can just stay for one night, he angrilly said no. The Manager was very rude when we were trying to negotiate with him for a discount because we found the rate was too high. He even said "Fuck you" to my son-in-law when he tried to get back our money. Imagine a manager saying those words to a customer? The rooms that he gave us were too small (3 rooms with 2 single beds,one of which is a storeroom, 2 rooms with one single and double beds, & one room with twin double beds. You can just imagine how a 27 pax fit in in those rooms. They only provided tissue papers, glasses and slippers. No soap and towel. They didn't even change the beddings during our stay. The place was untidy with the blankets and other items kept on the hallway. My niece one time asked for a pillow and the manager answered her "There's no fucking pillow here? That Manager is sooooooooo rude! Fortunately, we were able to come out from that hostel still whole on our 4th day. The place is too crowded esp. downstairs where you see different nationalities loitering/offering services around. Security in that hostel is uncertain. The Manager apologized when we were about to leave and even said "see you next year". We could only say to ourselves , "NO WAY, NOT IN THAT HOSTEL AGAIN!"

"Request"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Siti Halizah S. of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed:   June 15, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hi!
I need your help, can u book for me dome with 6 bed in 1 room, for 3 adults & 3 child (under 12 )
But,
I will pay full when check-in time, coz I dont have a credit card.
kindly please book for me date as follows:-

check in date ~ 25 october 2008
check out ~ 27 october 2008

you cooperation is highly appriciated.

Thank you.

"hongkong downtown backpacker"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Handoyo T. of jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed:   March 26, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
nice place.. well it's not big as shown in the webite. only arround 3,5 x 2,4 m² (i think so)
for those who has big body or taller than 2 meter, choose another hostel. but for other.. this hostel quite nice place.. located in the middle of the hongkong downtown , Tsim sha sui. there is lots of food waiting for you out side the building. the building its self mostly surrounded by indians. there's plenty of indian, pakistani Cuisine. but out side the building.. chinese food, western food, junk food, and others food is waiting for you to eat. locatian ? near MTR station, Sogo, Seibu, Avanue of stars, hongkong space and art museum, night market, and plenty of POI.
so overall :

plus : nice place, clean, value for money, secure, downtown hongkong, lots of food

minus : small space, dont see outside the window .. not a good view (but its okay.. we can handle it ^_^ ), small lift .. dont bring to much thing. just bring a couple of small case.. if you need more case, just buy it, cost you arround HK$20 - HK$300

"An Ok place to sleep."

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Ben B. of Hot Springs, AR, United States
Reviewed:   February 1, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
If you're looking for a simple cheap place to stay, this place has beds, clean sheets, showers, towels, and air-con. That's all you really need. But if your looking for a Hostel where you can meet people and hang out, don't go here. It doesn't have a lounge or restaurant or anything else.

The dorm style rooms and bathrooms are simple to the extreme, and not new. But things are fairly well maintained and clean. For example, this hostel is twice as clean as many in Mainland China.

By the way, this hostel has many names like Tai Wan Hotel, Hong Kong Downtown Backpackers, Tsim Sha Tsui Budget Hostel, and Li's Hostel, I think there are more but i'm not sure. When I stayed there basically everyone in my dorm signed up online for this hostel under a different name. However, all our names were on the reservation sheet of this same place. Check the address, anything on the 3rd Floor, Block A, at Chung King Mansions is really this same place.

The Location is Perfect for exploring Hong Kong.


Previous 10 results  11 - 20 of 23 reviews  Next 3 results




ApartmentInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us