Apartment Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.3
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.2
 Security & Safety  4.5
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.2
 Total  4.3

"Great value for money"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Kirsty B. of Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   August 8, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We were just looking for somewhere cheap to stay for the night as we were just travelling through the south and would be in Louisiana for less than 24 hours. Garden district house way exceeded our expectations. Tatianna was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the house is clean and in a good location. It made me feel safe that they have cameras outside where we parked.

"Tip Top!"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Sebastian F. of Lübeck, Germany
Reviewed:   May 12, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Super Hostel! Sauber, Nettes Personal, netter Hinterhof, Frühstück miteinbegriffen, sauber,... allerdings nur 2 duschen aber mehrere Toiletten. Alles sauber und in Schuss. Würde wieder buchen.
Nach einem kurzen Fußmarsch (

"Great staff"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   Rosalie D. of Montréal, Canada
Reviewed:   April 26, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We had the pleasure to spend 4 nights in the Garden district house and we really enjoyed our stay. The place is clean and the staff very helpful.

+100 pts to Tatiana's awesomeness

"Great for a late check-in, super accommodating"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Samantha H. of Oakland, CA, United States
Reviewed:   April 10, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The only flight we were able to book from San Francisco to New Orleans landed at 4:00 am. Thankfully, the hostel staff were able to put my key card in an envelope in an outside mailbox, and we were able to get into our room just fine. The staff were very friendly and the hostel was very clean. We only spent one night here, as we stayed in an AirBNB for the duration of the trip. But I would stay here again!

"Great stay!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Nevin M. of NOLA, United States
Reviewed:   April 6, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Only one night twice in three months, but service and accomodations were spot on each time.

"Great Place"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Sean B. of Pensacola, FL, United States
Reviewed:   March 21, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great hostel, very homey feeling. The staff is super nice and helpful, we had Maira help us out with a lot of info! Very liberal in terms of what you’re allowed to do. Also within walking distance of the French quarter. The hostel itself was very clean as well. The terrace outside is very nice and the immediate area is very safe, we parked our car right out front the whole night. Definitely recommend staying here if you’re on a budget or just want a unique experience!

"Staff was nice, but not worth the money"

User Rating:  2.8
Reviewer:   Allison C. of Boston, United States
Reviewed:   March 20, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We booked a room with a double bed for $60. We like staying in hostels and don't mind sharing bathroom and kitchen while traveling. Upon arrival the staff was very helpful and friendly. The location was nice, in a neighborhood away from the hustle of the French Quarter. We like walking and the French Quarter was about a 30 minute walk from the hostel. Our room, however, had no windows and was right next to the tile-floored kitchen/common area which echoed everything. Every time anyone entered the hostel or spoke in the common space, it was very loud and we did not sleep well. The bed had a squeaky plastic liner and our one comforter did not feel like enough on the chilly night, but there were no extra blankets and the staff is not there from 11pm-7am. The breakfast was very minimal (pancake batter with pancake fixings). If you are only paying $25 for a room in one of the dorms and don't mind a little grime or noise, I think this place would be worth it, but in my opinion, paying $60 for the room that we had was not a good use of our money. For an extra $30 we could have in a hotel.

"Good location with lots of potential"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   Lowell S. of Memphis, United States
Reviewed:   March 16, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My stay at the Garden District House (GDH) was okay. I stayed for 5 days in a private room, which was clean, quiet, and secure. I was provided towels, which I appreciated. The room lacked a dresser and hooks for hanging clothes. Only one outlet functioned, which I didn't like. There were two bathrooms and showers, which was good, however they were not high quality and lacked easy places to hang clothes and set down toiletries. The kitchen had many supplies but lacked hand towels and water pressure. The hostel is in a good location; it's close to Magazine Street and BlueBike bike share stations. The private room cost too much for the overall quality so I would not stay in it again for that price.

"Place was amazing, loved it!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Mathew H. of new york, United States
Reviewed:   March 5, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Really loved the garden district house, great location, close to the french quarter and hands down the garden district hood is the best in the city

"Good"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Audrey P. of Toronto, Canada
Reviewed:   January 11, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Garden District House is good depending on what you're looking for
We stayed in a private room 4 nights, for a great rate
We also stayed in Treme and French District

Location: The hostel was very quite, on a quieter street on the edge of the Garden District. Also, it was quiet season when we went, as well as Christmas (where most things are closed outside of the French Quarter). It was exceptional quiet when we went, so our experience may not be the norm.

Cleanliness: Good, no issues! The hostel room, common area, washrooms were all clean. You can tell its wiped down or checked up on at least daily

Atmosphere: QUIET. The TV area only has a love seat and 2 seater table. It does not give the traditional "hostel feel" where everyone can hang out together in a common space.
If you are looking to make new friends here, perhaps stay in a dorm room, but everyone seemed to be keeping to themselves
Like a hotel, no mingling/fun events were laid out during Christmas time

I am a smaller female so it may be helpful to add that I felt a tad uneasy. At around 3AM someone was banging on the door and ringing the doorbell constantly. We didn't open the door, the vibe of the area made me feel uncomfortable with opening the door for anyone at that hour

Service: Reception is friendly and was chill. They were quiet nice, but it is not 24hrs. They tell ppl to call their helpline if assistance is needed. This is hard to do if you're not American with a phone plan. If they have an email/messenger app that was advertised as being monitored, this would be much better for foreign travellers with data/wifi access

Free Breakfast: Good! It was nice this was offered, the kitchen was clean. When we went it was self-made pancakes, apples, tea/coffee, oatmeal. Can't complain about free, it was a great option to have :)

Price: Fair! We paid a good rate, which was hard to find elsewhere. The location is good but I mind you it is not that central within the Garden District. But the price was so good it`s worth walking 10-20 more mins.

The area is up and coming, NOLA was amazing


1 - 10 of 87 reviews  Next 10 results




ApartmentInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us