Apartment Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.7
 Rooms  4.9
 Cleanliness  4.6
 Location  5.0
 Security & Safety  4.7
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.5
 Total  4.7

"Downtown Lisbon Rooms"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Robert S. of Greenacres,Florida, United States
Reviewed:   December 25, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Lovely palce and terrific hostess. -Friendly,warm,accommodating.Convenient location. Would certainly return and would certainly recommend to friends.

"Perfecto para sentirse como en casa"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Laura O. of Madrid/Barcelona/Mallorca, Spain
Reviewed:   April 23, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Estuvimos 4 días y nos hubiéramos quedado muchos más. La casa es muy acogedora, está muy limpia y tiene pequeños detalles que hacen que te sientas como en casa.

La localización es inmmejorable tanto a la llegada (el aero-bus te deja en el Rossio y la casa está a 2 minutos a pie de ahi) como para salir de noche, puesto que se llega al Barrio Alto en 10 minutos.

Lo recomendamos totalmente.

"Very Very Highly recommended"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Scandar C. of Jaffa, Israel
Reviewed:   February 19, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
i arrived to Downtown Lisbon Rooms on the 20th of Feb 2009. Anabela, the young proprietor welcomed me and gave me plenty of excellent tips (+books) of the "where and who" in Lisbon.( The guesthouse is located in the centre of Lisbon.)
I immediately felt at home in this tidy, ultra clean and huge orange room (equipped with a mini stereo system + Portuguese music Cd's, a small working area with an internet connection and a really comfortable bed)

But then the worse of all happened... I caught a severe flu with everything that comes with it...
Anabela noticed this immediately and with the kindness of mother Teressa she took care of me as if she knew me since ever. She brought me medications, made me soup and checked on me day and night until i recovered.
I've been traveling around the world now for a while and never in my journeys did i meet such a caring proprietor of a guesthouse.

For me Downtown Lisbon Rooms is my home in Lisbon and i highly recommend it to anyone who wants to experience the true and real kindness of Portuguese.

"Camera colorata"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Tommaso A. of milano, Italy
Reviewed:   February 18, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2009     Type:   Honeymoon/Romance
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Ottima soluzione qualità prezzo, ottimo punto di partenza per visitare la città. La camera grande e gradevolmente colorata nei toni caldi, silenziosa. Possibilità di uso cucina. Gestione molto curata da Anabella che si preoccupa anche di metterti a disposizione uno stereo con cd di fado tradizionale. Consigliato per soggiorni romantici.
Adeus, Tommaso

"DownTown Lisbon"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Heli R. of Kuopip, Finland
Reviewed:   October 31, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very nice, cosy place in the middle of Lisbon center. The young lady who ownes the place lives there herself also and gave wonderful tips for restaurants, coffeeshops etc. There was no reception or signs of any kind so it was a bit difficult to find the place. However after you know where this hostel is it's very easy to find :) Gay friendliness was very outstanding.. Everything was in rainbow colors :D

"Bonitas vacaciones"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Xavier B. of Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed:   October 13, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Honeymoon/Romance
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (Espanol-Spanish):
Una bonita habitación en pleno centro de Lisboa, muy buen trato con los propietarios, simpatia y buen acojimiento. ¿Qué más se puede pedir?

"Genuine Hospitality and Excellent Location"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Teresa J. of Macau, Macao
Reviewed:   October 8, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
For three weeks before my trip I communicated with the proprietor of the Downtown Lisbon Rooms. She understood my needs and addressed my questions. I was planning on staying at the Marriott Hotel for a few days of business then moving for a few days of sightseeing. Originally, I had chosen to make a reservation here because of the reviews on the website given a variety of people from various countries---- ALL THAT HAD BEEN POSITIVE.

I agree these reviews are correct and my impression the exact same--- POSITIVE.

To me there are three types of needs of travellers... First, 4 and 5 star hotels are suited best for business travellers. Second, holidays to relax are best for people who can afford the elegance of such resorts or 6 star hotels as the Pestana Palace in Lisbon or the Venetian Hotel in Vegas and Macau or the Peninsula Hotel in Hong Kong. Third, small hostels or personal residences , like the Downtown Lisbon Rooms, are best for people who want to learn first hand from local people about a country and be central to local activities by walking.

It is the third category this small residence hotel best defines.

My plans had to change because I was offered a new job assignment. My employer a Portuguese Company asked me to stay on for a week of business at the Marriott where I would have business and executive services not available at the Downtown Lisbon Rooms. Because of my new offer, I needed to cancel my reservation with Anabela the proprietor. She not only was understanding but was congratulatory. She met with me, showing me her residence, and later sharing a afternoon tea. She then followed up with suggestions of places to visit and people to see.

I have made a new friend and feel very blessed, as this was the only independent contact with any Portuguese local I had during my business stay. Next time I am in Lisbon, I will visit her again and plan to stay for a night or two when I am not working because the location is so 'PERFECT'. And, most importantly to me-----
she was honest, kind, and helpful.... something every foreign traveller needs to experience.

TLJ
Director of the largest medical spa in the world at the Venetian Hotel, Macau

"Great place to stay in Lisabon"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Oldrich K. of Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed:   October 5, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
which truly provides you with all what is written on the web page. Very well located, charming, calm during the night and clean. The young host who lives in the appartment was very helpful giving us good recommendations what to visit and see in the city. We advise hostel to everyone.

"Weekend lisbon"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Roel M. of antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed:   June 15, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Excellent location (in the center) to explore lisbon.

"Excellent and Very Pleasant !"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Sebastien A. of france/paris, France
Reviewed:   June 9, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Really enjoyed staying in this accommodation - The room was clean ! The guest house proprietary really nice and helpful ! I recommend the room and pretty sure I will share this Guest House Address into my Family and Friends.


1 - 10 of 14 reviews  Next 4 results




ApartmentInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us