Apartment Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  1.0
 Rooms  1.0
 Cleanliness  2.3
 Location  2.5
 Security & Safety  1.8
 Service & Staff  1.5
 Food / Dining  1.8
 Total  1.7

"Do NOT stay in Arco Romana!!!"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   P S. of Minneapolis, United States
Reviewed:   June 18, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2011     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I have made a mistake of booking a room in Arco Romana. I booked for 4 nights, had to cancel after spending just one night in there (yes, it was THAT bad) - this "hotel" is very small, there are cockroaches, and worst of all, I did not feel safe staying there. But let me number it out:
1. SAFETY: There are no windows in the rooms - only balcony. All balconies are connected, so if you want to have fresh air in the room, you literally have to keep your doors open. In addition, you have to leave the room key at the reception when you leave for the day, and they give it back to you upon return. Well, I was given a key to a wrong room my first day - didn't realize until I saw that the number on the door and the key dont match - so what are the chances someone else have not been given the opportunity to browse my room, too?
2. DIRTY/INFESTED: What was described as a single room with shower on their website, turned out to be more of a closet-size hole, with a shower so tiny you could not lift your hands up with the door closed (I'm a pretty slim person)...and there were no toilet. You had to use the toilet on the floor. And that's where they have the cockroaches (Disgusting!). Also, the walls are so thin, I could here my cellphone receiving sms when I was in the restroom, across the hall 3 doors down.
3. CUSTOMER TREATMENT: After I brought up to the manager's attention all the problems from above, and told him that I am cancelling my reservation, he still made me pay 60 euro surcharge the remaining days!!! AND for the second night (since I checked out in the afternoon). He was VERY rude and ignorant, and even mentioned that they know about the cockroaches. I ended up paying over $200 total just to get out of there. So please, save yourself the trouble and NEVER stay in the disgusting ARCO ROMANA!

"Basic Facilities"

User Rating:  2.8
Reviewer:   Barbara B. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   June 23, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hostelearth.com)
Traveled:   June 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
good position for exploring. Facilities in hotel very basic ie hand towels only. room very small had to leave suitcases on balcony. very noisy with guests opening & closing doors until late Vending machine in corridor which didn`t help.

"Bad experience"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Wan Lin Y. of Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   June 23, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Booked a twin ensuite room. Was given a double room with shower only. Owner claimed that the amount we paid is just enough for the double room with shower only. Double bed is too small for 2 people. Have to pay extra if we need air-conditioning. Dishonest hostel. Do not recommend.

"Experience with Arco Romana"

User Rating:  1.6
Reviewer:   Hwee Y. of Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   June 10, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Rooms were clean. But rather bad experience with the staff. The day staff do not speak a single word of english, resulting in rather bad communication problem. We book for twin ensuite on hostelbookers website and it cost 56 euros for a twin ensuiteroom. They gave us a room with a small double bed and only with a shower with no toilet. they claimed that the room we are staying is actually selling for 80euros/night (stated on a shee of paper behind the wall). So since we are paying 56euros, we are not entitled to a room with toilet?? Then what exactly does ensuite means??? And according to this website 56 includes breakfast but they say 56 euros is too little to include breakfast. we book a room with aircon but they claimed aircon is additional. Rather unpleasant encounter!


1 - 4 of 4 reviews




ApartmentInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us